It’s a little after 3:00 pm Eastern Standard Time. Finnian is scheduled to be at the vet’s at 4:00 Pacific Time, four hours from now.

Dawn struggled with her decision to put him to sleep because he was feeling better today, his eyes shiny with life. The decision to let him go was enormously difficult. Now she prepares to say the last goodbye to her trusty little guide and partner.

It was only after joining the DLD (Dog Liver Disease) group that I met someone who had a service dog. I remember how profoundly it affected me to read about Margy’s service dog Noodles, who has since passed, and what that relationship was like. It changed something inside me forever. The epiphany about relationships with animals was further heightened when I met Dawn and Finnian on the site less than a week ago.

There was another deluge of posts today on the DLD site to support Dawn during this difficult time. Every post was meaningful, kind, thoughtful and considerate. I reprint verbatim here the two posts that reference service dogs:

On February 2, 2009

    “Dear Dawn. My heart is breaking for you, I remember, too well, how I felt when my Hearing Ear dog, Noodles had to be put to sleep because he had a rare cancer. Take your time, breathe, and be kind to yourself. I can only say that in time, the good memories of Finnian will make you smile once more. I am keeping you and Finnian in my prayers. 
It may ease his discomfort if you give him some vanilla Pediasure with Fiber, if he cannot eat. Big hugs from Margy Hope
”

On Feb 3, 2009

    “As we all say a prayer for Finnian and Dawn today during this difficult time, remember that she is on the West Coast, so her 4:00pm will be the East Coast 7:00pm. I want to send my prayers and positive energy and thoughts and love to them at the time they need it the most. Please keep them in your thoughts and prayers today and help Dawn deal with this loss. We have all experienced losses like this in our lives, but Finnian being her service dog makes this so much more difficult. Margy knows more than anyone about this having lost her precious Noodles a fewyears ago. Dawn, our love and prayers will be with you both.

    Love and Light
    Beth”

